all press releases all press releases

Today, the Federal Minister for Digital and Transport appointed the Cycling Advisory Council.

Federal Minister Dr Volker Wissing:

I want to take forward cycling in Germany and establish good, innovative and safe framework conditions together with experts and the responsible local representatives. There is a great demand for attractive services in the field of cycling, and these services are widely used and serve everyone. They do not only improve road safety but also mobility and participation. The better the conditions for cyclists, the safer, more sustainable and more energy-efficient overall transport will become. With the new Cycling Advisory Council, we have appointed a committed and highly competent team that will assist us in this field. I am very much looking forward to cooperating with the Advisory Council in the future.

The Cycling Advisory Council is an expert body that will support the Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport (BMDV) in implementing and updating the National Cycling Plan (NRVP 3.0).

The 20 members of the Advisory Council (11 women and 9 men) from government, the research and teaching community as well as associations will work together with the BMDV on a strategy for more, better and safer cycling in cities and rural areas across Germany. The cooperation is initially planned to run until 2026 and is to pursue the objectives of the 3.0 National Cycling Plan.

The active cooperation between the Advisory Council and the BMDV will advance the fundamental objective of the 3.0 National Cycling Plan, namely to turn Germany into a cycling country.

The list of the Advisory Council members can be found here:

Representatives from federal states, towns and municipalities

  • Kirsten Pfaue, Head of New Mobility Coordination for the City of Hamburg at the Authority for Transport and New Mobility of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg
  • Carina Hellbusch, Cycling Officer of the federal state of Brandenburg at the Ministry of Infrastructure and Regional Planning of the State of Brandenburg
  • Arne Koerdt, Head of the Cycling and Pedestrian Traffic, Town Centres division at the Ministry of Transport of the federal state of Baden-Württemberg

Representatives from academia and the research and teaching community

  • Prof. Jana Kühl, Endowed Chair of Cycling at the Ostfalia University of Applied Sciences
  • Prof. Dennis Kneese, Endowed Chair of Cycling at the Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences
  • Franziska Jurczok, Research & Consulting at the Sinus Institute for Market and Social Research
  • Anne Klein-Hitpaß, Head of Mobility Research at the German Institute of Urban Affairs

Representatives from associations

  • Manuela Metzsch, German Association of Cities, Transport Director-General of the Urban Planning Office at the State Capital of Mainz
  • Gabriele Flach, German Association of Towns and Municipalities, Committee for Economy, Tourism and Transport, Mayor of the collective municipality of Maikammer
  • Iris Hegemann, German Tourism Association, Head of Cooperation & Technical Issues
  • Carina Gräschke, German Association of Rural Youth, Federal Press Officer
  • Ann-Kathrin Schneider, German Cyclists’ Association, Federal Managing Director
  • Ronald Winkler, German Automobile Club, Urban Transport Expert
  • Jörg Ortlepp, German Insurance Association, Head of the Road division
  • Burkhard Stork, Cycling Industry Association, Managing Director
  • Carsten Hansen, Parcel and Express Logistics Association, Head of Policy Issues and Logistics of City Centres
  • Elena Laidler-Zettelmeyer, Federal Association for the Future of Cycling, Political Communications
  • Dr Tom Assmann, Head of the German Cycling Logistics Association

Other representatives

  • Burkhard Horn, Mobility & Transport – Strategy & Planning
  • Thiemo Graf, Institute for Innovative Cities, Managing Director