2021 Rail Summit / Conference on the Future of the Railways during the European Year of Rail

Monday, 17 May 2021

Programme

(as at: 10 May 2021; subject to change)

"Introducing regular interval services for Germany and Europe"
By train through Germany and Europe in an environmentally friendly way

10:00 to 10:45 hrs

Part 1: Virtual event on the signing of the Letter of Intent on TEE 2.0 and the trilateral Via Vindobona agreement

Opening by Andreas Scheuer, Member of the German Bundestag, *Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure*

Video featuring messages from the signatories

Live messages from selected EU Ministers of Transport

Announcement of the agreement on the upgrading of the Berlin - Prague - Vienna railway link (Via Vindobona) as a further practical and systematic implementation of the TEE 2.0 strategy together with the Austrian and Czech Ministers of Transport

Facilitator: Monika Jones

11:00 to 12:00 hrs

Part 2: Welcome addresses, speeches, panel discussion

Welcome addresses:

Dr Angela Merkel, Member of the German Bundestag, Federal Chancellor

Dr Ursula von der Leyen, *President of the European Commission*,

EU transport policy: strategies and measures for the railway sector within the scope of the European Green Deal

Speeches:

Andreas Scheuer, Member of the German Bundestag, *Federal Minister of Transport* and Digital Infrastructure,

Review and outlook: 4 years of new railway policy

Andreas Matthä, President of the Community of European Railways (CER), ÖBB-Holding AG,

Contribution of the railways to cross-border regular interval services for Europe

Enak Ferlemann, Member of the German Bundestag, *Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure and Federal Government Commissioner for Rail Transport*,

Masterplans as an instruction manual for the future

Facilitator: Monika Jones

12:00 to 13:00 hrs

Panel discussion:

Regular interval services for Europe – challenges and opportunities for rail transport after the corona pandemic

Ronald Pofalla, Member of the Management Board for Infrastructure at Deutsche Bahn AG

Martin Burkert, CEO Pro Rail Alliance, Deputy Chairman of the railway and transport union

Dr Tobias Heinemann, President of mofair stakeholder association, Managing Director Transdev GmbH

Andre Rodenbeck, President of the German Railway Industry Association (VDB), CEO Siemens Rail Infrastructure

Ingo Wortmann, President of the Association of German Transport Companies (VDV), Münchner Verkehrsgesellschaft mbH

Susanne Henckel, President of the Federal Association of Local and Regional Passenger Rail Authorities (BAG-SPNV), Managing Director VBB GmbH

Facilitator: Monika Jones

14:00 to 15:00 hrs

Part 3: Workshops, talk and plenary session

1. Parallel workshops

Workshop 1: Upgrading infrastructure (Deutschlandtakt (nationwide integrated regular interval timetable): more passengers and goods)

Facilitators: **Dr Markus Ksoll** (*DB AG*), Philipp Blümel (*BMVI*)

Workshop 2: "Digitalizing the rail system: by rail into the future" (Communication of benefits)

Facilitators: **Pauline Maître** (*VDB*), Mattias Potrafke (*BMVI*)

Workshop 3: Progressing the transformation of transport (Challenges, conditions, objectives)

Facilitators: **Dirk Flege** (*Pro Rail Alliance*), **Dr Jens Klocksin** (*BMVI*)

15:00 to 15:55 hrs

2. Facilitated talk and concluding plenary session: Expectations about the future of rail transport and the railways as a sunrise sector

Participants:

- **Prof Corinna Salander**, German Centre for Rail Traffic Research at the Federal Railway Authority
- **Dirk Flege**, Pro Rail Alliance
- Ludolf Kerkeling, Network of European Railways (NEE)
- **Martin Schmitz**, Association of German Transport Companies (VDV)
- **Dr Ben Möbius**, German Railway Industry Association (VDB)
- Jürgen Kerner, IG Metall

Facilitator: Monika Jones

15:55 to 16:00 hrs

Closing remarks

Enak Ferlemann, Member of the German Bundestag, *Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure and Federal Government Commissioner for Rail Transport*